Connecticut and Massachusetts Bankruptcy Attorney Walks Debtors Through the Process
Personal Bankruptcy Law Firm Assists Debtors in Connecticut and Massachusetts
Federal law regulates bankruptcy, and the process for filing for chapter 7 or chapter 13 bankruptcy is very similar in every state, including Connecticut and Massachusetts. However, state law still plays an important part, particularly in property exemptions, how much a debtor will be required to repay his creditors, and where mandatory credit counseling and debtor education courses can be completed. A list of Debtor Education Agencies approved in Connecticut and Massachusetts can be found at www.justice.gov.
Like other states, Connecticut requires that after you file for bankruptcy but before you receive your discharge, you must take a debtor education course. Like the mandatory credit counseling that you must take before filing your bankruptcy forms, you are required to receive debtor education from an agency approved by the U.S. Trustee's Office.
In Massachusetts, you must complete a credit-counseling course from an agency approved by the U.S. Trustee in Massachusetts within the 180 days before you file a chapter 7 or chapter 13 bankruptcy petition. If more than 180 days pass after you receive your credit-counseling certificate, you will be required to retake the course. Before you receive your bankruptcy discharge, you will also be required to complete a debtor education course.
If you are planning to file for bankruptcy in Connecticut or Massachusetts and need a recommendation regarding approved credit education courses, the attorneys at Susan M. Williams LLC have over 20 years of experience with the bankruptcy process. To schedule your free initial consultation with one of our skilled bankruptcy attorneys, contact our firm online, via e-mail, or call 860-265-4928 today.